How to Get an Online e-Stamp Certificate: A Step-by-Step Guide - The Red Carpet


The Red Carpet

“Your Opinion Matters”

Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Monday, May 29, 2023

How to Get an Online e-Stamp Certificate: A Step-by-Step Guide

Goverment Of Assam E-Stamp Paper

How to Get an Online e-Stamp Certificate: A Step-by-Step Guide

You must pay stamp duty to central or state authorities whether you want to buy, sell, create a deed, or even rent your property. A method of paying government non-judicial stamp tax electronically is known as electronic stamping, or e-stamping. Previously, the sub-registrar's office was the only place to make a stamp duty payment for the registration of real estate. The e-stamp paper technology has made it possible to complete the majority of the procedure online.

One way to pay the government's stamp tax electronically is with e-stamp paper. The government has adopted a digital strategy in place of the traditional paper and franking stamping method to ensure a rapid and trouble-free payment process. 22 Indian states now offer this service. Maharashtra has its own computerised method for paying stamp duties.

When Did India First Use E-Stamp Paper?

The Indian government launched its e-stamping service in July 2013. With this initiative, fraud and mistakes in the payment of stamp duty were to be reduced. E-stamp certificates can be issued in India by the Stock Holding Corporation of India Limited (SHCIL), the Central Record Keeping Agency (CRA). 

Authorised Collection Centres (ACCs) are the authorised intermediaries in responsibility of issuing e-stamp paper in place of the Customs and Revenue Agency (CRA). State governments established a number of ACCs.

Various Payment Options Available At The e-Stamping Portal

One can pay the fee using the following methods:-

  • Cheque 
  • Cash 
  • Account Transfer  
  • Demand Draft 
  • RTGS 
  • NEFT 
  • Pay Order

Services Offered by States and Union Territories for Electronic Stamping

In 21 states right now, SHCIL offers e-stamp online services. However, SHCIL does not offer e-stamping services in Maharashtra. It has a brand-new, launched in 2013, online stamp duty payment platform called the Electronic Secured Bank Treasury Receipt (eSBTR). 

The following 21 states are covered by SHCIL and offer online e-stamp services:

1. Andman and Nicobar

2. Andhra Pradesh

3. Bihar

4. Chhattisgarh

5. Chandigarh (Union Territory)

6. UT of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu

7. Delhi

8. Gujarat

9. Himachal Pradesh

10. Jammu and Kashmir

11. Karnataka

12. Ladakh (Union Territory)

13. Meghalaya

14. Odisha

15. Puducherry

16. Punjab

17. Rajasthan

18. Tamil Nadu

19. Tripura

20. Uttar Pradesh

21. Uttarakhand

How to Get Documents Electronically Stamped

Getting your real estate documents electronically stamped is now quite straightforward. The certificate can be downloaded online together with the stamp duty payment. Follow the instructions listed below to electronically stamp documents.

Step 1: Go to, the official website of SHCIL.

Choose e-Stamp Services in step two. 

Step 3: Pick the appropriate state where you want to pay the stamp duty; different cities have different stamp duty rates.

Step 4: Fill out the application form, then click "Download." You can get the form for free if the stamp duty is less than Rs 501.

Step 5: You will get the stamp certificate after clicking the download tab.

Procedure for e-Stamped Verification

Follow these instructions to verify an e-stamp: 

'Verify e-stamp' is a link that is available on the homepage. Click on it to proceed.

Step 2: Fill out the blanks with the state, certificate number, stamp duty type, issuance date, and session ID, then press the "Verify" button.

e-Stamp Paper Verification Using a Mobile App

The e-stamp paper can be verified using the E- Stamping mobile app. Get the app from Google Play or the App Store. In this programme, you have the choice of manually verifying or scanning the QR code found on e-stamp paper. Keep in mind that certificates issued before to February 13, 2019, do not support QR codes.

With the app's camera, simply scan a QR code to see all the information. By selecting the state after clicking the manual button, you can perform it manually.

After that, provide the document's unique document number, certificate number, date of issuance, amount reference, purchaser of the document, document description, stamp duty payment, consideration price, first party, and third party.

Online e-Stamp Services Fees

The e-stamping service is free from charge from SHCIL. However, stamp duty rates, which vary by state, will be your responsibility. 

Advantages of e-Stamping

Electronic stamp duty payment has a number of benefits, including:

Pay conveniently and whenever you want. 

The production of the stamp paper takes only a few minutes.

There are no extra costs. 

It features a distinctive identification number and is tamper-proof.

Data is safeguarded against manipulation using SHCIL e-Stamping.

To confirm authenticity, utilise an inquiry model.

Is It Possible To Get A Duplicate e-Stamp Certificate?

There is no way to duplicate the original e-stamp certificate if you misplace it. 


In conclusion, stamp duty is necessary while buying or selling real estate in India. The government introduced e-Stamping, an electronic and secure way to pay non-judicial stamp duty to the government, in response to technological advancements. 

The government started this programme in July 2013 to reduce mistakes and fakes.

1 comment:

  1. brillant piece of information, I had come to know about your web-page from my friend hardkik, chennai,i have read atleast 9 posts of yours by now, and let me tell you, your webpage gives the best and the most interesting information. This is just the kind of information that i had been looking for, i'm already your rss reader now and i would regularly watch out for the new posts, once again hats off to you! Thanx a million once again, Regards, Flats for sale in kollur


We would be happy to hear you :)

Post Bottom Ad